This five book series chronicled the simple adventures of Rainbow, Handie, Lucky, Solomon and others. Of note, Jacob Abbott introduced in this series a black youngster, Rainbow, and discussed race to a small degree.

The books: Copyright First edition
Title page
1. Handie 1859 1860
2. Rainbow's Journey 1859 1860
3. Three Pines 1859 1860
4. Selling Lucky 1859 1860
5. Up the River 1860 1861

All the first editions and the reprints were published by Harper and Brothers. In addition to the first editions, there are also 1871 and 1887 publications. There is no difference between the formats of 1860/61 and 1871.


1860 (First Edition)

1861 (Up the River)-First Edition