Monthly Archives: April 2015

Thomas Nelson/Thomas Nelson and Sons, London and Edinburgh

This entry was posted in English Publishers on .

In 1844 Thomas Nelson II went to London to set up of branch of the Edinburgh publishing firm his father had established in 1802.

Known Abbott titles at this time:

1844 China and the English – Jacob Abbott (288 pages)

The Fireside 1849
This little 4″ x 2.75″ book is soft leather bound and has gold gilt edges and is 264 pages.

1852 The Corner-stone 247 pages

In 1854 Thomas Nelson and Sons published “Abbott’s Series”. This four book series consisted of:
1. The Child at Home by John Abbott
2. Mother at Home by John Abbott
3. Every Day Duty by Jacob Abbott
4. Parental Duties by Jacob Abbott